Friday smile…Where are you?

aj ivy ivy 2

Sorry for the back to back posts!

Fridays usually mean that a big smile will be planted across my face, but today is very different.  The last two days have taken a toll on me. The numbness I had is starting to fade away and reality is starting to strike.   It is 8 o’clock  at night and I just left work a few minutes ago.  It is very typical that I spend 12 hours at work, but today is different.

Today was my “last” day at work. For those who do not know I have been working at the same childcare center for the past 8 years and have worked my way up the ladder. This place is my second home and everyone here is my second family.  AJ was raised by everyone here and I am very thankful for that. In the past 8 years, I have not missed one whole week of work! I guess you could say I was a workaholic.

I have built relationships with my families that I never want to break. All the children here are my babies and I love them more than words can describe. My co-workers are my “sisters.”  I have been working with the same group of people for the past 8 years. We have leaned on, fought, celebrated and grieved with one another. We take each other’s children to the doctors, run errands and everything else you would do for family. I spent 50+ hours a week with my girls and all my babies. It breaks my heart that I have to leave them. My heart is torn as crazy as that sounds. My son will always be my biggest concern and I would drop anything in a heartbeat to be with him, but “My Center” is also my baby! I know that my girls will take good care of everything. To my love muffin and my Lovie, You two know how much I love you and how much I enjoy watching you grow and mature. You both will always hold a very special place in my heart! I will always keep an eye on the both of you, so do not drive your teacher’s too crazy!

Everyone knows that I am solid as a rock, but knowing that I am leaving behind something that has shaped me into the person I am today is very hard. I know there has been many days where I just wanted to run out the door and never look back, but in the end I love my job and everything that comes along with it! I know I wont be able to stay away for too long. Give it a few weeks and I am sure I will be making guest appearances and being the crazy “boss” everyone says I am! xoxox- Sarah Belle

As I was writing this blog, I got great news!!! Aaron will be going surfing tomorrow . Aaron was signed up for 3 weeks of surf camp this summer and I was 2 seconds away from buying plane tickets to Florida for just one day so he could go surfing !  All the surf shops on Long Island and queens pulled together and found a way to make the smallest winter wetsuit for him. Once everyone heard his story and how he is the biggest 6-year-old beach bum ever, they all wanted to help him complete his little bucket list before his chemo starts! That smile I said was gone in the beginning of this blog is now back on my face! I am so stoked for my little man!

I cannot express how grateful I am for everyone who worked together and pulled strings to make this happen! Aaron and myself are truly blessed to have so many people out there who are willing and wanting to help us!!!!! So a HUGE THANK YOU to everyone!!!

2 comments

  1. I know that you will be greatly missed by everyone that you have touched. One of the most important reasons I took the job was because of this “Wonder Woman” I heard about named Sarah. I promise to take care of all those that you love and keep your spot in the office just the way you left it…with post its scattered everywhere and the “Sarah” system of filing. It won’t be the same without you but you are exactly where you need to be at this point in time. If you ever need anything, you need look no further than your “second home”. It will always have a place for you and AJ!

  2. Omg so excited for him. U had me crying in the beginning but when i heard the last part i started smiling and jumping for joy!!!! Make sure u take lotsof pictures and send me them. Ill be texting you and you will be missed but most of all know you are always a part of the center so damn right you bettermake those apperances. I think i speak for everyone when i say we appreciate you we love you and you made us who we are as well. We are truly greatful for all you have done. And will keep doing cant wait till u return. Its going to feel so weird on monday!!

Leave a Reply

